Seagrass Meadows

115 views (7 recent)

This layer shows the current known extent of Seagrass meadows in European waters, collated by EMODnet Seabed Habitats. Seagrasses provide essential habitat and nursery areas for many marine fauna. There are approximately 72 seagrass species that belong to four major groups: Zosteraceae, Hydrocharitaceae, Posidoniaceae and Cymodoceaceae. Zostera beds and Cymodecea meadows are named on the OSPAR Threatened or Declining Habitats list. Posidonia beds are protected under Annex I of the EU Habitats Directive. This data product should be considered a work in progress and is not an official product.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated October 25, 2021, 16:34 (UTC)
Created October 20, 2021, 00:34 (UTC)
Access level Public
Geographical area Europe
Language English
Organization EMODnet Seabed Habitats